The Landlord

Image

“Who is going to stay with your aunt when she goes home?” the man asked of the gruff female voice on the other end of the phone.

The woman explained, “I moved my niece in there a few weeks back,” and suddenly stopped speaking.

She started hacking a harsh cough directly into the mouthpiece of her phone which came out crystal clear into the man’s ear.

Holding the phone away from his head as the coughing continued, the man rolled his eyes.  Have another cigarette, why don’t you, he thought to himself.

Finally, the hacking stopped.  “It’s just my asthma and COPD acting up again,” she explained.

“Does your aunt know that this person is living in her home?” he asked with an incredulous tone.

“Sure, she knows.  We’re just about splitting the rent money in half.  I keep a little more because I’ve set the whole thing up.  I’m kind of like her business manager. Before this niece, I moved in a cousin and he shacked up with some woman.  They weren’t even married and they were just hanging out there, sleeping and partying.”

Leaning back in his office chair, the man started to spin left and then right.  “So what happened to them?”

“Oh, I kicked them to the curb,” she said very matter-of-factly.

“Your cousin?” the man asked to clarify.

Ignoring his question, the woman continued. “I kicked him and the woman out to the curb when I found out that she was living there, too.  Excuse me for saying this, but he’s just a pure piece of trash.  Plus, he wasn’t paying rent, so he’s gone.”

“Let me see if I understand.  You’ve been renting your Aunt Betty’s house out while she’s been in rehab for a stroke that left her paralyzed and unresponsive.  You’re only renting to your relatives who pay rent on time and are also willing to take care of Aunt Betty when she returns home.  She’s totally in agreement with this and you are only working in her best interest.  Does that sound right?”

“Yes, I knew you were listening,” the woman exclaimed with joy and started coughing again.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. under my quilt
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 03:50:33

    Love this it tickled me.

    Reply

  2. shystallion
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 07:00:05

    Reblogged this on mywritingsofloverealandunrequited88888 and commented:
    Super short story

    Reply

  3. sagedoyle
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 22:56:54

    I’ve awarded you the Blog of the Year Award 2013! (Forgive me if I’ve awarded you before and you declined, it’s hard to keep track of). There’s no obligation to accept, I understand completely if you don’t. Anyway, thanks for liking posts on my blog “The Journal of Wall Grimm.” I appreciate your coming by. For details about the award, please see my post http://wp.me/p41c99-oB Happy Holidays and have a peaceful and prosperous New Year! Sage

    Reply

  4. under my quilt
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:41:11

    As promised mince pies and mulled wine come down the internet line for you,hope you have a great Christmas and even better New Year, sent with love and bestwishes x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,949 hits
