The Loneliest Moment

Image

I saw myself fall to my knees

at the same time, watching and falling

 

Snow melted and seeped

Through the thin threads separating my skin from the cold

I felt it, freezing and wet, and returned to my body

 

My heart fluttered and skipped like a bird trapped in a room 

It felt like wings beating against my ribs and chest

Desperate to escape and wild with panic 

 

I was blinded from the glare shining off the sea of white

With nowhere to rest my weary eyes    

I was forced to look up

 

Distant, unsympathetic, and glowing

The moon looked down at me

Alone on my knees in the snow 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,062 hits
