Without discretion

The old brown woman
Grows curly white hairs
On the end of her chin
She pretends to see with foggy eyes
Better than she possibly can
Even with the thick glasses
Forgotten on her bedside table
Names and faces now escape her
So familiar and so distant
Her memory is useless
Yet, she laughs
She giggles and chortles
Snickers and snorts
She is free now but can’t remember why
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the echo of the whole sea
    Mar 20, 2014 @ 11:39:09

    Love it 🙂

    Reply

  2. bluemoth13
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 21:23:43

    I just plucked a few hairs from my chin last night. I’m not free at the moment, as I don’t want people to think I’m unkept. Someday I, too, will be free like your old woman friend, and when that time comes, my children will know that their mother loved them even if she could not remember their names.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits
